Gluten Free Dentist Visit

Being the new year, it was time for my 6 month teeth cleaning.  I know how could this possibly relate to food allergies?  Well, let me tell you that I was diagnosed 2 years ago with Celiac Disease and I have had my teeth cleaned 3 times since then.  I never thought to mention it to the hygienist.  All of a sudden it dawned on me that she would be putting a cleaning paste in my mouth and that I probably would be inadvertently swallowing some of it.  At that point a big light bulb clicked on and I said, “Is that paste gluten free?”  She said, “I imagine, but I don’t really know.”  Hmmm, I thought…..it was one of those things you can take for granted and later wonder what the heck you ate that made you feel sick.  We opened up the cabinet to check the box and right on the side of the carton, in big orange letters it read: GLUTEN FREE.

Needless to say I was relieved and while she scraped and polished my teeth, it gave me time to think.  If it stated GLUTEN FREE, so plainly and boldly, then are there other dental products that may not be allergen sensitive or safe for Celiac patients?  I made a mental note to make sure to ask my pediatric dentist for my daughter as well.  Just thought that it might remind you to make sure to explore everything that might go into your mouth, because it’s been two years for me and it was one thing I hadn’t given a second thought.
Check us out at http://www.CanIEatHere.com !

Like our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/canieathere

Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/canieathere

About Can I Eat Here? Blog

President & Co-Owner CanIEatHere.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

